
2022-2023 School Year
Utah School Registration Immunization Requirements

Utah State Law requires that all students must submit a completed immunization record to the school BEFORE THE FIRST DAY OF SCHOOL ATTENDANCE. THESE
REQUIREMENTS ARE IN EFFECT FOR THE 2020-2021 SCHOOL YEAR IN ALL UTAH PUBLIC AND PRIVATE SCHOOLS. A student must have proof of the following

immunizations for school enrollment or submit one of the three exemptions listed below.

Preschool K-6th Grade 7th-12th Grade

4 DTP/Dtap/DT
3 Polio (IPV)
1 MMR

• (mumps, measles, rubella)

3 Hepatitis B (HBV)
2 Hepatitis A (HAV)
1 Varicella (chickenpox)

• history of disease need a document signed
by a healthcare provider

HIB..
• doses adequate for age

Prevnar (Pneumonia)
• doses adequate for age, including one dose

of Prevnar 13

5 DTP/Dtap/DT/Tdap
• 4 doses ok if 4th given after 4th birthday

• 3 doses ok if 3rd given after 7th birthday 4
Polio (IPV)

• last dose must be given after 4th birthday or
5 required

• 3 doses ok if 3rd given after 4th birthday
2 MMR (mumps, measles, rubella)

3 Hepatitis B (HBV)
• last dose must be given after 6 months

of age or 4 doses required
2 Varicella (chickenpox)

• history of disease needs a document signed by a
healthcare provider

2 Hepatitis A (HAV)

5 DTP/Dtap/DT/DTP
• 4 doses ok if 4th given after 4th birthday

• 3 doses ok if 3rd given after 7th birthday 1
Tdap (tetanus, diphtheria, pertussis)

4 Polio (IPV)
• 3 doses ok if 3rd given after 4th birthday

2 MMR (mumps, measles, rubella)

3 Hepatitis B (HBV)
• Last dose must be given after 6

months of age or 4 doses required
2 Varicella (Chickenpox)

• history of disease needs a document signed by
a healthcare provider

2 Hepatitis A (HAV)
1 Meningococcal

(1st dose MMR, Varicella and Hepatitis A must be given AFTER 1st birthday to be valid dose)

EXEMPTIONS

PERSONAL RELIGIOUS & MEDICAL
All new students, students entering Kindergarten and 7th grade the legal guardian must complete an on-line educational module (free of charge) and provide a
copy of the completed form to the school official. The on-line course can be found at www.immunize-utah.org. Completion of the on-line educational module can
be done at the Health Department if you do not have access to a computer. For a medical exemption, a written note from a licensed health care provider must be
provided along with a copy of the completed on-line educational module. It should state the physical condition of the student, and why that vaccine would endanger
the  student’s life or health.

Results of a completed TB test (PPD) given in the U.S. within 90 days or results of a chest x-ray taken within the last year must be presented before school attendance begins by all students who have moved in from a foreign country
(except Canada) or who have been out of the country for 6 months or more.

A child may be allowed to attend school “conditionally” if at least one dose of each required immunization series has been completed and the child is
currently on schedule to finish the rest. The remaining immunizations must be completed on schedule for the child to remain in attendance.


