Community Classes & Trainings
Car Seat Education Class
Beginning in March 2022, car seat classes offered in English will be available in-person and virtual.
TODAS LAS CLASES DE LOS ASIENTOS DE SEBURIDAD SON VIRTUALES. No hay opción en persona en este momento.
2022 Virtual Car Seat Class Instructions/ Instrucciones para las clases de asientos de seguridad virtuales del 2022
En español primer jueves del mes a las 5:30 pm, cada mes excepto Julio. Para la página de clases en español haga clic aquí.
Car seat education classes are offered in English on:
- 3rd Thursday at 5pm of every month except July (IN-PERSON ATTENDANCE)
- Location: 151 S. University Avenue, Provo, 2nd floor, room 2601
- 4th Monday of every month at 1pm (VIRTUAL ATTENDANCE)
Pre-registration is required. Complete the registration form by selecting the date of the class you plan to attend.
On the day of the virtual class, return to this website and follow the directions below:
You MUST click the link below and participate in the video segment to receive credit for the class. If you don’t have audio available on your video you can also join in by calling: +1-415-655-0001 include meeting # listed . For further information, call 801-851-7513. For help in Spanish call 801-851-7528.
Class materials for reference
EASY Program | Eliminate Alcohol Sales to Youth
Off Premise Alcohol Retailer
State law requires training in the EASY Program for each store employee that sells alcohol or directly supervises the sale of alcohol for Off Premise consumption (gas stations, convenient stores, grocery stores). This training must be done within 30 days of hire. After participating in an EASY training, retailers will receive an Off Premise certification, which must be renewed every 5 years.
- Utah County Health Department (UCHD)
UCHD offers this training to businesses at their location. If you are an employer who would like to provide this training to your employees who sell alcohol, please contact Brian Alba at 801-851-7178. Class sizes must have 5+ participants. The cost is $10.00 per person, cash or check only.
- Online Providers
The Department of Human Services – Substance Abuse and Mental Health has a list of additional providers.
Follow the steps below:
1. Go to dsamh.utah.gov
2. Click on the “Education” tab on the home page.
3. Click on “Alcohol Server and E.A.S.Y. Training.”
4. Click on “Complete list of trainers”
THANK YOU FOR SUPPORTING THE EASY PROGRAM
For questions contact Brian Alba | 801-851-7178 | BrianA@utahcounty.gov
Living Well Workshops
Living Well with a Chronic Condition
Free 6-week workshop to help those living with a chronic condition increase their quality of life. This class is also offered in Spanish as Tomando Control de Su Salud. For more information, call (801) 851-7528 or register for a class here.
Living Well with Diabetes
Free 6-week workshop to help people with type 2 diabetes better manage their health. Family and friends of those with diabetes also are encouraged to attend. This class is also offered in Spanish as Manejo Personal de la Diabetes. For more information –call (801) 851-7528 or register for a class here.
Living Well with Chronic Pain
Free 6-week interactive workshop to help individuals better manage symptoms related to their chronic pain. Free book and CD provided.
To register for a class, call 801-851-7528 or register online here.
Opioid Overdose Prevention & Naloxone Training
The Utah County Health Department offers a FREE opioid overdose prevention and naloxone training. Naloxone (also known as Narcan) is a medication that reverses an opioid overdose. It is important to have a naloxone kit if you or anyone you know is using opioids. The Health Department has a FREE limited naloxone supply available to those who take the class.
To schedule a class or walk-in, please contact MekelJ@utahcounty.gov | 801-851-7139
For safe drug disposal information, click here.
QPR: Question Persuade, Refer
While suicide is a major public health problem, there are ways to help! QPR (Question, Persuade, Refer) teaches you how to become a gatekeeper to prevent suicide. You will learn how to recognize the warning signs and what you can do to help. Everyone plays a part in suicide prevention and can offer hope to those who are struggling. If you or someone you know are having suicidal thoughts, please get help immediately. Call the Utah County Crisis Line at 801-691-LIFE (5433). To schedule a QPR or find one near you, call 801-851-7513.
Safe Routes Utah School Assembly
The Safe Routes Utah Beat the Street assembly is a free, 30-minute program about walking and biking to school safely. It is available statewide to students in 1st, 2nd, & 3rd grades. This dynamic, educational presentation teaches students about the importance of traffic signs, signal lights, crossing the road and helmet use. To request a presentation in Utah County, go to Safe Routes Utah to register.
Stepping On: Falls Prevention for Older Adults
Free 7-week program that helps reduce your risk of falling for those age 65 and older. Register here or by calling 801-851-7528.
Substance Use Prevention Presentations
The Substance Use Prevention team can present on a variety of topics including the history of prevention, prevention science (risk and protective factors), effective prevention, and drug facts. Community members are encouraged to learn about Utah’s evidence-based programs and campaigns such as Parents Empowered, Use Only As Directed (UOAD), Eliminate Alcohol Sales to Youth (EASY), Communities That Care (CTC), and the Opioid Overdose Prevention Program. Staff are also able to help local community groups understand and analyze their local Student Health and Risk Prevention Survey data. To schedule a presentation, call 801-851-7178 or email BrianA@utahcounty.gov.
Suicide Prevention in the Workplace
Suicide is a major public health problem and our highest rates are working adults. Working Minds trains organizations to proactively address the early warning signs of suicide in the workplace. Organizations help employees address physical health in their policies, but mental health isn’t as often included. This training will educate and equip businesses with tools to address mental health and suicide concerns within the workplace. To schedule a training, call 801-851-7513.
Tobacco Cessation Training for Healthcare Providers
Evidence indicates that patients are more likely to quit tobacco when healthcare providers are involved. This training provides techniques that can be used in a clinical setting to discuss tobacco use (including vaping) with patients. Contact 801-851-7094 to schedule a training.
Tobacco Prevention Presentation for School Administrators
The Tobacco Prevention and Control Program staff are available to provide information about tobacco products (including vaping), health effects of tobacco use, and how teachers and administrators can talk to youth about the dangers of vaping. Staff can also assist schools with updating tobacco policies. For assistance, contact 801-851-7096.
National Diabetes Prevention Program (DPP)
Prevent T2 is a one-year lifestyle change program for people that have been diagnosed with prediabetes that helps them make real lifestyle changes such as eating healthier, increasing physical activity, and improving problem-solving skills.
Participants meet 24 times over the course of a year with a trained lifestyle coach and a small group of individuals working towards the same goals of preventing type 2 diabetes.
Qualifications to participate:
a) Have a BMI greater than 25
b) 18 years old or older
c) Have an A1c of 5.7-6.4 or fasting glucose between 100-125
or score 5 or more on this risk assessment.
Cost of class: $250 with $100 reimbursement upon completion of program
- Now accepting Medicare for those 65 and older
For more information about Prevent T2 Lifestyle Change Program:
Call 801-851-7014 or register online here.
For help in Spanish please call: 801-851-7528.